Skip to main content
Cannes Film Festival 2013

Lesbian love tipped for Palme d'Or as Jarmusch, Polanski close Cannes

Léa Seydoux (L) and Adele Exarchopoulos in La Vie d’Adèle – Chapitre 1 & 2 (Blue Is The Warmest Color)  by Abdellatif Kechiche
Léa Seydoux (L) and Adele Exarchopoulos in La Vie d’Adèle – Chapitre 1 & 2 (Blue Is The Warmest Color) by Abdellatif Kechiche Wild bunch / Quat’Sous Films / France 2 Cinema / Scope Pictures

Star directors Jim Jarmusch and Roman Polanski wrapped up the viewings at the Cannes Film Festival on Saturday, as critics tipped lesbian love story Blue is the warmest colour or Coen brothers’ Inside Llewyn Davis for the Palme d’Or, awarded Sunday evening.


Jarmusch’s Only lovers left alive is the US directors’ take on the currently trendy vampires theme, featuring Adam (Tom Hiddleston) and Eve (Tilda Swinton) as a stylish globe-trotting vampire couple who’ve been together since the 1860s and have their own sources of top-quality blood.

Cannes 2013

Polanski’s Venus in furs, named after the book by Leopold von Sacher-Masoch that gave masochism its name, features his wife, Emanuelle Seigner in what he insists is a “satire on sexism” in which Mathieu Amalric’s struggling theatre director auditions for a female lead and is captivated by an actress called Vanda.

Critics, especially French ones, have high hopes that that Abdellatif Kechiche’s La vie d’Adèle (Blue is the warmest colour) will win the Palme d’Or, the first time a French-language film has done so since Laurent Cantet’s Entre les murs in 2008.

Based on a graphic novel, it has grabbed headlines for its explicit lesbian love scenes.

But the Coen brothers’ Inside Llewyn Davis, a comedy about a 1960s folk singer, has also been highly praised, as have Alexander Payne's recession-era Nebraska; a Chinese exposé of exploitation, A Touch of Sin by Jia Zhangke, and Iranian Oscar-winner Asghar Farhadi's The Past.

In competition for the Palme d'Or:

  • Un château en Italie (A Castle in Italy), Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi;
  • Inside Llewyn Davis, Joel et Ethan Coen;
  • Michael Kohlhaas, Arnaud Despallières;
  • Jimmy P (Psychotherapy of a plains indian), Arnaud Desplechin;
  • Heli, Amat Escalante;
  • Le passé, Asghar Farhadi;
  • The immigrant, James Gray;
  • Grisgris, Mahamat-Saleh Haroun;
  • Tian Zhu Ding (A touch of sin), Jia Zhangke;
  • Soshite Chichi Ni Naru (Like father, like son), Kore-Eda Hirokazu;
  • La vie d'Adèle, Abdellatif Kechiche;
  • Wara No Tate (Shield of straw), Takashi Miike;
  • Jeune et jolie, François Ozon; Nebraska, Alexander Payne;
  • La Vénus à la fourrure, Roman Polanski;
  • Behind the candelabra, Steven Soderbergh;
  • La grande bellezza (The great beauty), Paolo Sorrentino;
  • Borgman, Alex Van Warmerdam;
  • Only God forgives, Nicolas Winding Refn.

The jury, chaired by US director Stephen Spielberg, retires to a villa in the hills to deliberate before announcing its decision at 8.00pm local time Sunday.

Daily newsletterReceive essential international news every morning

Page not found

The content you requested does not exist or is not available anymore.