South Africa send England in to bat in first T20

Cape Town (AFP) –


South Africa won the toss and sent England in to bat in the first Twenty20 international at Newlands on Friday.

It was a cool, cloudy evening with the possibility of rain showers. Rain twice interrupted a women's Twenty20 international between the two countries, played earlier, which South Africa won by 17 runs according to the Duckworth/Lewis method.

South African captain Faf du Plessis said at the toss that Quinton de Kock would not play because of a "niggle". AB de Villiers will keep wicket.


South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers (wkt), JP Duminy, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, David Wiese, Chris Morris, Kyle Abbott, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir.

England: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley, David Willey.

Umpires: Johan Cloete and Shaun George (both RSA)

TV umpire: Adrian Holdstock (RSA)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zim)