Kiwi Dixon captures another Watkins Glen win


Los Angeles (AFP)

New Zealand's Scott Dixon dominated the IndyCar series return to Watkins Glen International by roaring home for his fourth career win in the race and first from the pole position.

Dixon, of Brisbane, won for the fourth time in seven appearances on the 5.4 kilometre (3.4 mile) road course, which hadn't hosted an IndyCar race since 2010. He led 50 of 60 laps.

Dixon's margin of victory over second-place Josef Newgarden was 16.5 seconds. Helio Castroneves finished third with series rookie Conor Daly fourth and Sebastien Bourdais fifth.

"The car was just fantastic," said Dixon.

At one time Dixon owned this track, winning IndyCar's first three trips here in 2005, 2006 and 2007. Sunday's pole sitter had to come from behind in each of those victories at the track in Watkins Glen, New York.

Dixon's win was the 40th of his career. He is now No. 4 on the all-time list, trailing Michael Andretti by two race wins. A.J. Foyt leads all drivers with 67.

The fight for the points championship is down to two drivers. Leader Simon Pagenaud finished seventh in the race and takes a 43-point lead over Will Power into the double-points finale, the Grand Prix of Sonoma on September 18.

Aussie Power crashed out of the race, finishing 20th of 22 drivers. He was being treated for a possible concussion.

American Graham Rahal escaped injury when his car went nose-first into the turn one inside wall after contact from Charlie Kimball. Rahal was trying to pass on the inside, but Kimball ran over the curbing, kicking his car right and causing the wheel contact.