West Indies win toss, Afghanistan look to level T20 series


Basseterre (Saint Kitts and Nevis) (AFP)

West Indies captain Carlos Brathwaite won the toss and chose to bat first against Afghanistan in the second fixture of a three-match T20 International series at Warner Park in St Kitts on Saturday.

Victors by six wickets in the opening fixture a day earlier, the home side have retained an unchanged 11 in pursuit of a win that will clinch the series ahead of the final match on Monday.

Afghanistan have made two changes from the side that was especially disappointing with the bat on Friday.

Noor Ali Zadran replaces Usman Ghani at the top of the batting order while Dawlat Zadran comes into the final eleven as the expense of fellow seamer Shapoor Zadran.

Teams: West Indies – Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Evin Lewis, Chadwick Walton (wicketkeeper), Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jason Mohammed, Rovman Powell, Sunil Narine, Jerome Taylor, Samuel Badree, Kesrick Williams

Afghanistan – Asghar Stanikzai (captain), Noor Ali Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Samiullah Shenwari, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Shafiqullah Shafaq (wicketkeeper), Najibullah Zadran, Amir Hamza, Dawlat Zadran

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite (BAR), Joel Wilson (TRI)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)