Skip to main content

Pakistan to bat first against New Zealand in 2nd ODI

1 min

Nelson (New Zealand) (AFP)

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first against New Zealand in the second one-day international in Nelson on Tuesday.

"We've had a practice game in Nelson so we know the pitch and hopefully we will do well," said captain Sarfraz Ahmed.

"It looks like a better wicket (than Wellington), that's why we will bat first."

Pakistan need a win to draw level in the five-match series after losing the first game in Wellington.

However, they suffered a blow on the morning of the match with Fakhar Zaman, who made an unbeaten 82 in Wellington, ruled out with injury and replaced by Imam ul-Haq.

New Zealand have kept the same line up and are full of confidence at home after winning all seven completed Test, ODI and Twenty20 matches against the West Indies before Pakistan's arrival.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Todd Astle, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

Pakistan: Azhar Ali, Imam ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees.

Umpires: Chris Brown (NZL), Richard Illingworth (ENG)

TV Umpire: Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)

Page not found

The content you requested does not exist or is not available anymore.