Tour de France

2016 Tour de France line-up same as 2015

Christopher Froome (C) riding in the 2015 Tour de France
Christopher Froome (C) riding in the 2015 Tour de France FP PHOTO / ERIC FEFERBERG

Tour de France organizers announced the same 22 teams that rode last year will compete this year in the race that starts at the Mont St Michel on 2 July. British cyclist Christopher Froome will attempt to win a third title on a route that appears made just for him, as individual time trials will play a bigger role this year than in previous races.


"It's a selection without surprises," said the Tour’s general director Christian Prudhomme.

There are four invited teams, three French and one German team Bora-Argon, which will compete in the race for the third time.

"They have the German champion, the young Emanuel Buchmann, who did an excellent climb at Cauterets last year and a good sprinter in Irishman Sam Bennett," said Prudhomme.

Froome, riding for Team Sky, took the 2013 title, and edged out Colombian Nairo Quintana by 1’12 minutes last year.

Quintana is expected to be one of Froome's main challengers this year, out of the 198 racers, especially with mountain finishes at Mont Ventoux and Saint-Gervais-les-Bains.

Qualified teams:

AG2R La Mondiale (France)
Astana Pro Team (Kazakhstan)
BMC Racing Team (USA)
Cannondale Pro Cycling Team (USA)
Dimension Data (Russia)
Etixx-Quick Step (Belgium)
FDJ (France)
IAM Cycling (Switzerland)
Lampre-Merida (Italy)
Lotto Soudal (Belgium)
Movistar Team (Spain)
Orica GreenEDGE (Australia)
Team Giant-Alpecin (Germany)
Team Katusha (Russia)
Team Lotto NL-Jumbo (Netherlands)
Team Sky (UK)
Tinkoff (Russia)
Trek-Segafredo (USA)

Invited teams:

Bora-Argon 18 (Germany)
Cofidis (France)
Direct Energie (France)
Fortuneo-Vital Concept (France)

Daily newsletterReceive essential international news every morning