Cannes Film Festival 2014

Women dominate jury for Cannes Film Festival

The jury for the 2014 Cannes Film Festival
The jury for the 2014 Cannes Film Festival Lisa Tomasetti/ Saba Siahpoush/ Paul Schmidt/Jonas Bie/ Andrew

The jury for this year’s Cannes Film Festival has been announced and there’s a nod to gender parity in the line-up this year.


Film-maker and jury president Jane Campion leads eight jurors, four men and four women who will decide which film out of the 18 in competition, is worthy of the Golden Palm in 2014.

Dossier: Cannes Film Festival 2014

Campion’s fellow jurors are: French actress Carole Bouquet, director-screenwriter-producer Sofia Coppola, actor Willem Dafoe, actor-director Gael Garcia Bernal, actress Leila Hatami, actress Jeon Do-yeon, director-screenwriter-producer Jia Zhangke and director- screenwriter-producer Nicolas Winding Refn.

Jane Campion herself is the only woman ever to have won the prestigious Palme d'Or.

She took the award in 1993 for The Piano, and also won the short film section in 1986.

Campion has described the festival as a "mythical and exciting" placewhere "amazing things can happen" adding that she knows this "because that is what happened to me".

The awards ceremony for the 67th Cannes Film Festival is scheduled for Saturday 24th May.

Daily newsletterReceive essential international news every morning

Keep up to date with international news by downloading the RFI app